My Gaming History

Before i start the influx of news stories and write-ups i figured i should drop some knowldege on your fools – in other words, my personal gaming-ography – past, present, and future.

I have been wielding a video game controller since i can remember being able to control my eye-hand coordination. It all started with Super Mario Bros. on the NES and Sonic The Hedgehog on Sega Genesis. These games had me hooked on platforming. I can’t remember which one i played first, but i can remember being glued to the screen till i had beaten the games with multiple play throughs. My childhood years were followed with many fond memories of 16bit glory. I was a Sega child, but i got my hands on plenty of Nintendo as my best friend was a genuine Nintendo fanboy. I’ll drop some names to key you in on what type of games i was diggin on: Sonic, Maximum Carnage, Mortal Kombat 1 & 2, the Zelda series, Mario Bros series, Jurassic Park for Sega Genesis (Raptor stages ftw), and the list can go on but i don’t feel like going off on that tangent at the moment.

I was a console gamer at heart until two key PC games slowly sucked me into the PC gaming scene. You may be expecting a UO or maybe a Doom. No, no i have much better. Starsiege Tribes and…The Sims. Lovely duo, right? My friends on my block hooked me up a copy of both games (my first taste of warez) and i furiously played both games on my family computer, a Pentium 1 233 mhz HP Pavilion. Yeah boooii.

Both games got me comfortable with the, at the time strange to me, idea of sitting in front of a computer for hours upon hours playing a game. Tribes led me to Tribalwar, and if you know of TW, then you know it was all down hill from there for me.

As for consoles, i was a sucker for the 9/9/99 Sega Dreamcast marketing and was sucked into that blackhole of money wasting and ever since then no single console has really been able to entertain me enough to keep it for longer than a few months. I’m not sure if it was PC gaming that killed my console love, or if it was MMOGs that killed my desire to play single player games in general.

My road to MMO hell(heaven) started with Diablo II. Oh, how i loved you Diablo II. Blizzard’s hack’n’slash RPG got me hooked on the LOOTWHORING mechanic that would eventually get me hooked on MMOs. After completion of Diablo II, i tried other similar isometric-camera RPGS (Neverwinter Nights, Icewind Dale, Dungeon Siege, etc) but none had the same effect as the red devil did. A few of my friends were playing the likes of UO and EQ, as I scoffed at the idea of paying a monthly fee ON TOP of paying for the game. Who do they think they are charging you like that? Little did I know I would eventualy be one to have multiple active pay2play accounts open in any given month. Young naive James.

Fast forward to my Junior year in high school. A classmate told me to play this Dark Age of Camelot game with him. The prospect of playing with him and a few other friends, on top of the fact i was bored with the current gaming scene, led me to bite at the bait. I had made my first leap into the MMORPG world.

I’ll be honest, I was a complete noob. I barely got my Elf Eldritch to level 13 before I had burnt out. I was an ameteur, a poseur, a disgrace to my hardcore gaming brethren. This would all change the day i purchased Star Wars Galaxies.

Let’s get this out of the way, I’m a huge Star Wars fanboy. I’m such a fanboy i love the prequels AS WELL as the originals. I love Anakin in the prequels. I love everything George Lucas does and I defend all his decisions likewise. If you have a problem with Lucas changing his movies or the way he scripts the dialogue in his movies, don’t watch them.

So, Star Wars Galaxies. I played it, i got hooked, i played it for 2 years. I quit when the NGE ruined it all. SWG marked the first real accomplishments I had made in an MMO and my first real taste of any End Game content in the genre. I had mastered 20+ professions, I was a slave to the holocron-grinding, I had unlocked Jedi, I was a macro’ing buffbot in the Coronet starport, and yes I even took time off to be my server’s trusty Image Designer! *flips wrist*

Yeah, i loved SWG. It was and still is my favorite gaming experience to date, although I’m banking on Warhammer Online to possibly take that spot with the anticipated RvR and living guilds/cities.

As this post is getting drastically too long, i will pretty much cliff notes the rest. Since SWG i have played or tried pretty much every MMORPG to grace the internet. Some of my favorites being Planetside (beta), Lineage 2 (masochism), and WoW (of course). In the last three years i have mainly been glued to WoW (on and off) but all the alt making and repetition is finally wearing on me as I let my subscription run out. Three years, and it’s finally getting old. We had a good run WoW. I’ll come check on you when Wrath of the Lich King comes out I’m sure though. You can never count me out of an MMORPG. Anyone who knows me, knows that.

Until then, i will be following Warhammer Online religiously and posting a lot of the Warhammer related news on this blog.

~ by James Taylor on June 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
