LAN backfire!

My LAN that was an attempt to show my buddy who great LOTRO can be turned into me reactivating and frantically installing World of Warcraft again!

We did a few rounds of Warcraft III, he tried coaching me in some Starcraft 2, and then I got him to use one of my Mines of Moria trial keys, which lasted about 1-2 hours before he was uninterested. He’s an interesting gamer to dissect. He’s almost the opposite of me, when it comes to MMORPGs, but we can both understand where each other is coming from. As Bartle would put it, he’s an achiever and I’m an explorer, and thus LOTRO just isn’t his cup of tea, I suppose. I honestly just think he doesn’t give new MMOs enough time to hook him, as convoluted of a concept as that is for hobby such as gaming, where instant gratification is supposedly king. It’s easy to believe that a game should grab you instantly, but it’s just not true for such games as MMOs with enormous learning curves and a smorgasbord worth of gameplay.

So game analytics aside, I am now wet-footed in WoW again, leveling a brand new Horde character with my friend, when I was just beginning to fall in love with LOTRO. EVE didn’t even stand a chance.

~ by James Taylor on December 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
