Sugar Free Rockstar


I wasn’t really in the mood to down a new, mysterious, energy drink tonight, but I had set out to do it earlier and I wasn’t going to flake on my blog-promises.

I cracked open this bad-boy around 2 A.M. and began my usual sipping and tasting routine. Before I even opened it up, I was impressed by the ingredients and stats the drink was bringing to the table. It’s coming in with taurine, ginseng, and all other sorts of artificial sounding stuff and questionable herb extract.

Upon tasting, I was instantly impressed. It’s as if a low-carb Monster got it on with a Red Bull and they had some demented monster bull baby. In other words, I loved it. It had the fruity taste of a Monster but still had the taurine-punch taste of a Red Bull, while somehow still evading the melted-candy-like after taste that Monsters usually cause to linger on your taste buds.

Was it packing heat though? I was already beyond the point of being saved from my exhaustion, but I could definitely feel the caffeine and taurine fighting inside my muscles. It helped boost me through another two and a half hours of Lineage 2 at least, so it did its job. I’d rate its power on par with a Red Bull or Monster.

Verdict: A

Chalk this baby up in my top 3 of energy drinks. With low-carb Monster kicking it in 3rd place, and Red Bull riding high in my top spot, Sugar Free Rockstar nestles it’s way into my bloodstream right between them. A fitting spot for a drink that combines the best of both drinks. Will buy again.

~ by James Taylor on February 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
