Tera: The Exiled Realm of Arborea

http://tera.hangame.com/ for the HD version of the trailer and game’s homepage, albeit in korean

The most breath-taking, amazing, and technologically insane looking MMORPG I’ve ever seen.

I literally just found out about this game so my information pretty empty, but I read that it’s being developed by past Lineage 2 lead developers. No idea what it will play like or if it will ever see a North American launch, but it’s eye candy nonetheless. It’s like Aion on crack, which is funny because Aion is built on what most see as a more graphically intense engine (Crytek engine) while Tera is being built on Unreal 3. Speaking of the Unreal 3 engine, this has probably the most unique art design of any game using the engine, even tops the more recent Square-Enix console flops that used Unreal 3. And holy #*%@ at the red panda looking race. MUST. PLAY.

Lineage 2 has shown me the light of Korean-style MMORPGs again, and it makes me happy being able to look forward to things like Aion, and now this Tera game. At the same time, it makes me sad that Korean MMORPGs seem like they will never catch on in America, so my passion for them will always leave me in a niche, often misunderstood, MMO scene.
So, go to the site and watch the trailer. Be sure to have tissues in reach to wipe your drool off your mouth.


~ by James Taylor on February 13, 2009.

7 Responses to “Tera: The Exiled Realm of Arborea”

  1. […] What is with this, I’ve discovered another next-gen Korean MMORPG tonight that completely blows my mind. Blade & […]

  2. I simply love the style and unique flair that the Koreans seem to add to every fantasy mmo title I check out. I suppose years of L2 has spoiled me as a mmo gamer. It might not always be easy, and it might not always be fair, but the sheer beauty of the characters, worlds and combat systems are simply unparalleled.

    If this game does indeed make it to the US then huzzah! If not then I guess I might be looking to buy a pirated dead Korean SS ID and some great Kor proxies so I can connect and play :p

  3. “If this game does indeed make it to the US then huzzah! If not then I guess I might be looking to buy a pirated dead Korean SS ID and some great Kor proxies so I can connect and play :p”

    I was thinking the same exact thing. Actually, I was trying to look into this for something like the Aion beta even, but I gave up cause it was too late last night ><

  4. Tera was originally Lineage 3 developing by NCsoft, but the team leader, with 80 some other members, decided to go off and form their own company, after they had stole the source code. Thus, I recommend you to not let the graphics fool your eyes!

    Also, Blade and Soul was announced first. So you should say, Tera looks like Blade and Soul, and not the other way around.

  5. I had heard about the Lineage 3 source code fiasco, wasn’t quite sure if this was the outcome of all that though. That’s good to know though, and actually makes me even more excited about it if that’s true.

    I love Lineage 2 as a game and I think it does so many things right – if the lead devs were able to learn from their mistakes and evolve the game in Tera, then I’m all on board.

    And I think you misunderstood – I didn’t mean to compare B&S and Tera in a way that would spark argument, I merely meant they are both AMAZING looking next-gen Korean MMOs.

  6. […] this on MMOsite earlier and had to post it. I’ve been following this game for a while now and I’m still crossing my fingers that it finds a North American or European […]

  7. Gunslinger @ tera-online.com

Leave a Reply

 
